The American Board of Certification is the nation's premier legal specialty certification organization - certifying attorneys as specialists in business bankruptcy, consumer bankruptcy and creditors' rights law.

State Approaches To Certification

This summary is intended as a guide. Please refer to your state's rules regarding communication. You should also review the states with special requirements. Further information on state regulation of certification can be found on the ABA website.

All three ABC programs are accredited by the American Bar Association (ABA). The ABA reports that twenty-four (24) states currently recognize ABA accreditation as the sole or partial criteria for approving certifying organizations in the state. These states are:

  • Alaska
  • Arkansas
  • Delaware
  • Hawaii
  • Idaho
  • Iowa
  • Maine
  • Mississippi
  • Montana
  • Nebraska
  • Nevada
  • New Hampshire
  • New York
  • New Jersey
  • North Carolina
  • North Dakota
  • Puerto Rico
  • South Dakota
  • Tennessee
  • Utah
  • Vermont
  • Washington
  • Wisconsin
  • Wyoming

ABC Certification is a prerequisite for certification in Louisiana and Tennessee.

In addition, ABC has gained accreditation in the following 11 states:

Some states have rules that are favorable to certification. These 12 states are:*

  • Colorado
  • District of Columbia
  • Georgia
  • Illinois
  • Kansas
  • Kentucky
  • Massachusetts
  • Michigan
  • Missouri
  • New Mexico
  • Oregon
  • Virginia

*A Favorable rules change is pending before the South Carolina Supreme Court.

Ohio, Louisiana and Tennessee have Unique State Requirements.