ABC Names 2016 Officers, Directors and Emeritus Directors


The American Board of Certification of Bankruptcy and Creditors’ Rights Attorneys (ABC) held its annual meeting in December at the Arizona Biltmore in Phoenix, Arizona.

Elected as 2016 Executive Committee members were Michael P. Horan, Chair (Trenam Law; St. Petersburg, FL); Walter J. Greenhalgh, President (Duane Morris LLP; Newark, NJ); Craig M. Geno, President-Elect & General Counsel (Law Offices of Craig M. Geno, PLLC, Ridgeland, MS); J. Scott Bovitz, Treasurer (Bovitz & Spitzer; Los Angeles, CA); Robert C. Furr, Secretary (Furr & Cohen, P.A.; Boca Raton, FL); Prof. Laura B. Bartell, Dean of Faculty (Wayne State University Law School; Detroit, MI);  Mary Beth Ausbrooks, Chair of Standards Committee (Rothschild & Ausbrooks, PLLC; Nashville, TN); Wesley H. Avery, Chair of State Bar Liaison Committee  (The Bankruptcy Law Center; Claremont, CA); Kirk B. Burkley, Chair of Marketing Committee (Bernstein-Burkley, P.C.; Pittsburgh, PA); Donna T. Parkinson, ABI Representative at Large (Parkinson Phinney; Sacramento, CA); Robert L. Pollak, CLLA Representative at Large (Glassberg, Pollak & Associates; San Rafael, CA);  and Mark A. Craige, Chair of Technology Committee (Crowe & Dunlevy; Tulsa, OK).

ABC congratulates its newly elected Directors, who will serve three-year terms:  James B. Angell, (Howard, Stallings, From, Hutson, Atkins, Angell & Davis, P.A.; Raleigh, NC), Johnathan C. Bolton, (Goodsill Anderson Quinn & Stifel; Honolulu, HI), Michael D. Fielding, (Husch Blackwell LLP; Kansas City, MO), Kelly M. Hagan, (Hagan Law Offices, PLLC; Acme, MI), and Randy Nussbaum, (Nussbaum, Gillis & Dinner, P.C.; Scottsdale, AZ).

Former ABC officers and directors may be recognized for their past exemplary service to the ABC with an honorary lifetime appointment to the ABC Board of Directors.  It is my pleasure to announce that Mac D. Finlayson (Eller & Detrich, P.C.; Tulsa, OK) has been named an Emeritus Director.

Candace C. Carlyon (Morris, Polich & Purdy, LLP; Las Vegas, NV), and Martha R. Lehman (SmithAmundsen LLC; Indianapolis, IN) were new appointments to the ABC Faculty Committee.  Finally, outgoing Chair Candace Carlyon was recognized for her many years of service to ABC.

Nominations for board membership are made each fall.  ABC attorneys who are interested in serving on ABC’s Board of Directors can contact me ( or ABC’s Executive Director Dian Gilmore for more information.

Michael P. Horan, Chair
Trenam Law

Previously published in the ABI Journal.

Leave A Reply